CBGMC Emblem
Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha's
Dharwad, Karnataka
CBGMC Emblem
About Us
Mahathma Gandhi DBHPS

Mahatma Gandhiji, the father of the nation, foresaw the need of a common language between the northern, southern and other linguistically divided states of the country in the interest of unity and integration of the nation. Even before Indian independence, as early as 1918, he thought Hindi language spoken by the largest section of the people could be the link language. He formed Dakshin Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha at Madras(Chennai), in the year 1918, with the noble purpose of propagating Hindi in the southern states of the country. He was the life time president of this esteemed institution, "DAKSHIN BHARAT HINDI PRACHAR SABHA".

Eminent personalities like Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri, Smt Indira Gandhi, Shri Rajiv Gandhi, Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao, Shri. Vektaraman, Justice Rangnath Mishra and Shri. M.V. Rajshekaran have been the past presidents of the sabha. At present Justice Dr. V.S. Malimath serves as the President.

Hindi Language became the Official language from the date of commencement of the Constitution of India. Propagation of Hindi in the Southern States was a dire necessity as contemplated in the Articles 343 to 351 of the constitution.

With these aims and objectives, and considering the noble work done by Dakshin Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha from the year 1918, Government of India declared the Institution as an Institution of National Importance by Central Act 14 of 1964.

Management Committee

Shri C.B.Guttal Ayurvedic medical college is managed under the noble guidance and able leadership of following office bearers of Dakshin Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha.



Affiliation And Recognition

Shri C.B.Guttal Ayurvedic Medical College is affiliated to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS), Bengaluru, Karnataka since 2004. The institute is recognised for admissions by Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM), New-Delhi and approved by Dept. of AYUSH, New Delhi.


Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) was established by Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences Act of 1994, passed by Karnataka Legislature and is dedicated to the motto of "Right for Rightful Health Sciences Education". It is an affiliating, teaching and a research University, head quartered in Bangalore. More than 600 colleges conducting professional courses in Medicine, Dentistry, Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, Homoeopathy, Physiotherapy, Pharmacy, Nursing and Allied Sciences in Karnataka are affiliated to the University. The courses conducted are approved by the apex Bodies such as Medical Council of India, Dental Council of India, Central council of Indian Medicine, Central Council of Homeopathy, Indian Nursing Council, Pharmacy Council of India, All India Council of Technical Education, and University Grants Commission. The recognized courses range from undergraduate, post-graduate, fellowship, doctoral to certifications in various disciplines of Health Sciences. RGUHS caters to about 1.5 lakh medical and paramedical students every year. Rajiv Gandhi University establishs uniform standards par excellence in Academics and Administration of teaching and learning of Health Sciences.




Department of Indian Systems of Medicine and Homoeopathy (ISM&H)was created in March,1995 and re-named as Department of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) in November, 2003 with a view to providing focused attention to development of Education & Research in Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy systems. The Department lays emphasis on upgrading of AYUSH educational standards, quality control, standardization of drugs, improving the availability of medicinal plant material, research and development and awareness generation about the efficacy of the systems domestically and internationally. 5-year permission from AYUSH Department


The Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM) is the statutory body constituted under the Indian Medicine Central Council Act, 1970 vide gazette notifaction extraordinary part (ii) section 3 (ii) dated 10.8.71. Since its establishment in 1971, the Central Council has been framing on and implementing various regulations including the Curricula and Syllabii in Indian Systems of Medicine viz. Ayurved, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy at Under-graduate and Post-graduate level. Now all the Colleges of Indian Systems of Medicine are affiliated to various Universities in the Country. These Colleges are following the minimum standards of education, Curricula and Syllabii, prescribed by Central Council.


Shri R. F. Neeralakatti educational campus Garag road, Mummigatti, Dharwad 580011 Karnataka

  Show on Map
  • call  0836-2486951
  •   0836-2486941
  •   cbgamcdwd0014@gmail.com